Board Members

  • Nicolás Mallo Huergo

    Executive Chairman, Nicolás has almost 22 years experience in the energy markets and has executed many M&A transactions. He has a Law Degree from the Universidad Católica Argentina, and a Master in Law (LLM.) with honors at Northwestern University School of Law, Chicago, U.S.A.

  • German Ranftl

    Corporate Finance Director, German Ranftl is a Certified Public Accountant with a Bachelor’s Degree in Accounting from the University of Buenos Aires, Argentina and a Masters Degree in Business Administration from CEMA, Argentina. He has over 20 years of experience in the financial services industry, having held a number of senior positions in International Banking and Capital Markets. Previously, German was Chief Financial Officer at EDEMSA, an electricity distribution company in the province of Mendoza, Argentina. He has also held position as Vice President in Corporate Finance and Investment Banking at ING Barings. German is renowned in the industry as a proficient professional in finance planning and analysis, having broad knowledge and experience in controllership and treasury duties as well as economic strategy and forecasting.

  • Juan Carlos Esteban

    COO, Holds a Civil and Petroleum Eng. Degree from the University of Buenos Aires. He worked 23 years in YPF as operations and planning manager in charge of Argentina and Bolivia. He was Head of Technical Staff of YPF where he oversaw more than 300 professionals. Previously General Manager of YPF in Mendoza in charge of Neuquina and Cuyana Basin.

  • Sir Michael Rake

    Non- Executive Director, Sir Michael is Chairman of BT Group plc as well as Chairman of payments processing firm Worldpay Group plc, a director of S&P Global and Chairman of Majid Al Futtaim Holdings LLC. He was President of the CBI from 2013 to 2015; a member of the Prime Minister’s Business Advisory Group from 2010 to 2015; non-executive director of Barclays plc from 2008, becoming Deputy Chairman from 2012 to 2015; Chairman of the private equity oversight group the Guidelines Monitoring Committee from 2008 to 2013; Chairman of easyJet plc from 2010 to 2013; the first Chairman of the UK Commission for Employment and Skills from 2007 to 2010. He was a director of the Financial Reporting Council from 2008 to 2011 and Chairman of Business in the Community from 2004 to 2007. Sir Michael was a member of the National Security Forum for 2009/2010 and a member of the board of the Prince of Wales Charitable Foundation from 2010 to 2016. From May 2002 to September 2007 Sir Michael was International Chairman of KPMG. Prior to his appointment as International Chairman he was Chairman of KPMG in Europe and Senior Partner of KPMG in the UK. Sir Michael was knighted in 2007. In 2011 he received the British American Business UK Transatlantic Business Award in recognition of outstanding business leadership. In 2013, he received the Channing Award for Corporate Citizenship, was voted the FTSE 100 non-executive director of the year and received the ICAEW outstanding achievement award.

  • Mr Matthieu Milandri

    Non-Executive Director, Matthieu has been Investment Director at Mercuria Energy Trading SA since December 2011, with a particular focus on upstream oil and gas assets. Prior to joining Mercuria, Matthieu was CFO of Candax Energy Inc, a TSX-listed upstream company and Business Development and Financing Manager at Geopetrol, a private upstream group. Matthieu spent nine years with BNP Paribas. He graduated from ESSEC Business School in 1998 with a degree equivalent to an MBA with a specialization in finance.

  • David Jackson

    Non-Executive Director, David has more than 30 years experience in international banking and finance having held senior positions in Standard Chartered Bank (1990 – 2008), where he was a Managing Director in London and Hong Kong, Scandinavian Bank (1977 – 1990) in London, Bahrain, Singapore and Hong Kong where he was an Executive Director and a member of the Bank’s General Management Committee and Finance for Industry, now 3i, where he was a Senior Legal Advisor (1973 – 1977). He retired from Standard Chartered Bank in 2008 and was the Non-Executive Chairman of Old Park Lane Capital plc (2010-2013).

  • Carolina Landi

    Non-Executive Director, Carolina graduated from the University of Buenos Aires in 2003 with a law degree, and obtained a LLM in Business Law from the University of Palermo in 2003. She previously practised as a lawyer at the firm Laporta-Lopez & Partners. Carolina is currently the legal representative for the Patagonia Petroleo UTE.

  • Javier Alvarez

    Non-Executive Director, Javier is an Agricultural Engineer and has a Masters in Environmental Politics and Globalisation from King’s College, University of London. Javier is overseas director and member of the board of directors of the British Argentine Chambers of Commerce. Javier has 12 years experience in corporate social responsibility on natural resources projects.

  • Nigel Duxbury

    Non- Executive Director, Nigel has extensive experience both as a finance director and senior executive in small and large quoted and unquoted companies within Europe, Asia and the USA. He has a background in finance and accountancy, having qualified as a chartered accountant with Touche Ross, London. He is currently a director of a number of AIM quoted companies.n.